Security Summit Agenda

August 25, 2020

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM EDT (15:00 – 16:00 BST; 16:00 – 17:00 CET) The Journey to Remote Proctoring: Perils and Payoffs

Over the last several months, many high stakes testing programs needed to quickly pivot to a new way of providing online test security for their credentialing or admissions exams. With test centers closed or at reduced capacity, test sponsors turned to remote proctoring to provide business continuity and allow their candidates to safety and securely test from home. This session brings together a diverse panel of presenters to share their unique perspectives on the considerations, challenges and lessons learned in transitioning to remote proctoring. Hear their stories - how their programs approached the transition, the unique challenges they experienced, stakeholder acceptance and the outcomes they have seen using remote proctoring. The panel will also share their views on the future of remote proctoring, whether they plan to use it post-pandemic, and any advice they have for other testing organizations considering it.

Speakers:

  • Camille Thompson (Moderator), Vice President, Test Security
  • Risk Management Division, The College Board
  • Ray Nicosia, Executive Director, ETS
  • Patrick Watts, Exam Security Specialist, PMI

11:00 – 11:30 AM EDT (16:00 – 16:30 BST; 17:00 – 17:30 CET) Break

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM EDT (16:30 – 17:30 BST; 17:30 – 18:30 (CET) Remote Proctoring Security Considerations: A Provider Forum

Remote proctoring has grown in the wake of the pandemic but what do you need to understand to use it for your testing program? Join a facilitated discussion on the range of different remote proctoring exam security solutions available for academic and high stakes testing organizations featuring the perspective of the remote proctoring providers. Hear firsthand how the different methods of online proctoring provide distinct levels of exam security and data. A focus will be on the unique aspects of remote online proctored delivery, the use of algorithms to assist identification verification and monitoring of an exam administration, and the future of proctoring post-pandemic. Topics include:

  • Best practices for identity verification
  • Methods to deter and detect content theft
  • Preventing test-takers from unauthorized aid during an exam
  • The role of AI in helping detect proxy testing and suspicious behaviors
  • How do you know your remote proctoring solution is working?

This expert panel will also share emerging trends and innovations from the quickly evolving technology used in online proctoring and share their unique insights on where they see the exam security market headed post-pandemic.

Speakers:

  • Sue Martin (Moderator), Global Head of PersCert Academy & Life Care

August 26, 2020

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM EDT (15:00 – 16:00 BST; 16:00 – 17:00 CET) Remote Proctoring: Responding to the Challenges of Video Surveillance

How can you best balance security and privacy when remote proctoring? How do you prevent test takers at home from stealing content or engaging in test fraud, whilst also respecting their privacy? And what do laws such as the GDPR or CCPA require you to do?

ATP has recently published a 50-page guide on privacy issues when using video in the testing industry. This session will include attorneys and co-authors of this guideline to summarize the guidance in respect of remote proctoring. During this session these experts will:

  • Share a checklist on what test organizations need to do to safely use video in assessment
  • Discuss how to retain recordings from online proctoring sessions
  • Discuss how to meet privacy regulations including the GDPR, CCPA and other privacy requirements

*All registered attendees of the Security Summit will receive a PDF version of the guidelines, Privacy Guidance When Using Video in The Testing Industry

Speakers:

  • Gary Behrens (Moderator), Assistant Vice President OD & Leadership Assessment Solutions, FifthTheory, LLC
  • John Kleeman, Founder and Executive Director, Questionmark
  • Donna McPartland, Owner and Attorney, McPartland Privacy Advising LLC
  • Allison Mulford, Associate General Counsel, Prometric

11:00 – 11:30 AM EDT (16:00 – 16:30 BST; 17:00 – 17:30 CET) Break

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM EDT (16:30 – 17:30 BST; 17:30 – 18:30 CET) Ask the Attorneys about Remote Proctoring

The rapid spread of the novel coronavirus led to a surge in the use of remote proctoring to deliver secure, high stakes exams. Many certification and licensure bodies, as well as higher education institutions, have set aside in-person testing in favor of online home-based testing with reliance on remote proctoring. The sudden and unexpected pivot to digital solutions to deliver assessments raises a host of concerns about test security, privacy, fairness, and the defensibility of digital modes of administration.

  • To become the “new normal,” what are some of the legal hurdles home-based remote proctoring must overcome?
  • From a legal perspective, can home-based administration of high stakes exams co-exist with in-person test centers?
  • For K-12/schools, institutions and test providers who serve education and assess minors, what are some unique privacy and legal considerations related to remote proctoring (whether it’s live remote proctoring or record and review remote proctoring)?
  • Is there any guidance you would provide to programs or institutions considering remote proctoring as a solution for educational assessments?

“Ask the Attorneys” is an interactive session that allows members of the audience to pose questions on test security, privacy, and related issues to a highly regarded panel of legal experts.

Speakers:

  • William G. Harris, CEO, Association of Test Publishers
  • Alan Thiemann, General Counsel, Association of Test Publishers
  • Marc Weinstein, Managing Attroney, Marc J. Weinstein PLLC
  • Kathryn Myers, Group Legal Advisor, BTL Group
  • Jennifer Semko, Partner, Baker & McKenzie
REGISTER for the ATP Security Summit today!